Results and thoughts

So, here’s the scoop.I had first trimester blood work and MaterniT21 bloodowork taken on June 28th, Wednesday. I had a third ultrasound on around June 30th, because there was a concern that the embryo was too small. At that point, embryo should have been 10 1/2 weeks along, but the ultrasound that day confirmed there was no heartbeat, and had stopped growing at 8 weeks 4 days. (However, there was an ultrasound a week and a half before, so there was still a heartbeat at 9 weeks.)  Anyway, I then started miscarrying that Saturday during the power outage (read the “Lesson in gratitude” post).

I’m feeling lazy about the rest. Allow my emails to do the talking.

From: BastCoyote (BC)

When you get a chance – can you reiterate the First trimester bloodwork findings- – specially, my question is:  How do my results compare to the average NON-pregnant woman taking the same test?   (Obviously, non-pregnant women have low HCG levels, so … I’m just wondering if there’s a way to differentiate.)

I’d love to know if the embryo really did have Trisomy 13 or 18, but I am also wondering how reliable the test would have been with fetal demise possibly having happened a week earlier.  “1 in 5 chance” makes sense, of course… By the way, my Beta HCG levels today were only 37. So it’s returning to normal quickly.

From: Genetic Counsellor (GC)

As far as the first trimester screening results,  these two chemicals are only produced during pregnancy so there wouldn’t be a comparison to a non-pregnant woman.  Your point about if you had lost the baby the week before we did the blood work is a good one since that could very well explain why the level s were so low.  At this point it is hard to say if the baby had a chromosome issue such as trisomy 18 or 13  or if the results were due to the loss.

From:  BastCoyote
Thanks for the additional thoughts. 🙂  I’m going to pass those along as-is to the fertility clinic… I just have a feeling it’s pretty rare for an embryo to have both Trisomy 13 and Trisomy 18 (isn’t it??)….

From: Genetic Counsellor

 It can happen that a baby has two trisomies but it is quite rare.  Just so you know when the first trimester screens are reported the risk for trisomy 18 ortrisomy 13 are combined so that is why there is just one number given.
 
More thoughts: My results from the MaterniT21 test were inconclusive. The lab said there wasn’t enough DNA in the sample to get a good result. I suggested that this might have related to the fact that the embryo probably stopped growing at 8 1/2 weeks and thus, there wasn’t enough DNA in my blood. She agreed that was probably true.
Additional thoughts (7/18): Dang. I heard from the OB yesterday. They couldn’t do a pathology on my tissue because it was obtained at home and not in a “sterile hospital D&C.” I kinda wanted to call bullshit on that, but whatever. Fine. So, all they were able to determine was that the tissue was a “product of conception.” No shit, Sherlock. I wouldn’t have figured that out otherwise. Good to know it wasn’t my uterus just randomly falling out. Whatever.
 
Leave a Reply

