Bolus!

In response to the awesome Pregnant Chicken:

I mean, OK, but I expected the kicking to be more martial-artsy.  All of that tiny little butterfly “kicking” yesterday really couldn’t have won any tournaments, and I expect bad-assery from the beginning. Whoever s/he is, s/he’s definitely active.  I am a bit weirded out by the idea of reaching into my fat abdomen and trying to move him/her around, though: “Is that a fetus, or a bolus?”  Score!  We should name it Bolus.

So, I’m guessing that yeah, all the little fluttery stuff I’ve been feeling for at least the last month has all been fetal movement. It hasn’t felt like kicking yet, really, which is why I haven’t gotten nutty excited about it.  It really does feel like bubbles under my skin, or like someone lightly tapping.

I need to post the anatomy scan pictures, but I haven’t scanned them yet.

In other news, we had the floors refinished this week and have now rearranged the furniture…  so things are getting a little more organized for the wee one’s arrival later this year.  My mom’s early gift of an infant car seat arrived yesterday, too…  so, that combined with the E-bay purchased stroller, and of course my getting-harder-to-hide belly is definitely making things more Real.

Fetal echocardiogram on Tuesday. I expect it to be normal, since the anatomy scan was. But I’m crossing my fingers the placenta has moved away from the cervix…  I really would like a vaginal birth. (I say that now, but ask me how I feel in four and a half months.)

 

Leave a Reply

