Classes? Methods?

Had a midwife checkup on Thursday, and everything was normal, as expected.  I asked her about classes and methods for labor, and she had a few suggestions.

What about you all: What do you all think about which birth classes and methods?  I’m a skeptic and not into completely hippie-like things, but I do want an unmedicated birth, and preferably in the birthing center tub. I don’t like pain, but I don’t want unnecessary surgery. 🙂  Plus, weirdly, the miscarriage pain last year taught me that I can freakin’ DO this. I’m weird. 

Anyway, so… Bradley? Hypobirthing? Hypnobabies? Lamaze???   I’m thinking Lamaze will be too goofy, but i don’t know. And my other-half and I don’t want to spend $300 on any classes, which is what the Bradley classes cost around here.  However, there are shorter classes, and of course, lots of books. As you might remember, I’m open to shamanic journeying and acupuncture, but I don’t think the birth center has an acupuncturist on staff. Boo. But hey, I am happy about having the jacuzzi and/or birthing tub as options.

No humor today… my goodness. Am I sleepy?  

5 comments

  1. I did the standard birthing class offered at my hospital. I pretty much knew I was getting an epidural. I’ve heard amazing things about hypnobabies. I haven’t done anything with it, but some amazing women have used it for unmedicated deliveries with great success. I would highly recommend looking into it. Other than that I have nothing to offer as I just “breathed” through my contractions until I was told by my nurse it was time to get the epidural. I was also an induction so I was already super medicated LOL. Good luck!

  2. Yeah, the birthing center where i’m going doesn’t have medication options at all, so if everything stays normal, I won’t be getting an epidural or anything else. I’m hoping to keep it that way. 🙂 I’m really not afraid of labor pain, as long as it’s normal pain… which classes can help me learn about. And of course, my midwife will let me know everything’s normal. 🙂 I’d really like to avoid a C-section, as well as all sorts of other medical stuff. 🙂

  3. I’m 18 weeks pregnant and I just switched to a midwife this past week. They also do not offer any kind of pain medication, which was the whole reason behind me switching. I want to have an all natural birth, most people I say this to think I am insane. My fiance and I will be taking HypnoBirthing classes after our wedding (September 20) The birth center also has a tub which I do intend on using to the fullest. I wouldn’t even mind birthing right there in the tub. I’ve read some pretty amazing things about HypnoBirthing so I am eager to take the classes and read the book. As far as preparing ahead of time, I’ve been doing yoga, at least 6 days a week. It has helped so much with the back pain and the other lovely pains of being pregnant! I also am reading a book called. Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. I just figure the more positive I stay about the natural process the easier it will be for me to stay in that state of mind come labor! Best of luck to you!!

    1. Yep, I read Ina Mae Gaskin’s book about 4 or 5 years ago — good stuff! I’m going to see if my birth center has Hypnobabies in their library. I do have Hypnobirthing and Bradley from the library, so that’s good at least. 🙂 I think midwife-run practices, especially birth centers, are always going to be more natural-childbirth-focused. The philosophy tends to be, “All births are normal and natural and don’t need to be treated as emergencies, unless proven otherwise.”

      I’m not sure why other folks want natural births, but I do because I don’t like the (generally American) medical approach that fears litigation more than it prefers natural, simple processes. I don’t want unnecessary surgery or procedures if my body can handle it. I know the pain will be ridiculously bad, but I did experience the miscarriage labor last year, and that really helped me be less afraid. When I understand pain, I am OK.

    2. Also, I don’t see why people would say we’re insane for wanting natural births. If everything is normal in labor, I don’t see the point in having a lot of meds. I’ve had major miscarriage pain (and contractions). I’m not too afraid of a more intense version of that. I’d rather have a natural birth than end up with a C-section, if I can avoid it. I’ve had abdominal surgery and I’d like to avoid having it again!

Leave a Reply

